Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Top social icons

Congressman Gonzalez Cosponsors Bill to Award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 Fallen Servicemembers

August 31, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Today, Congressman Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15) along with 158 of his colleagues in the U.S. House of Representatives, introduced legislation that posthumously awards the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 brave men and women who lost their lives in the line of service during the attack in Afghanistan on August 26, 2021. 


The legislation will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss. 


“Every community in our nation mourns the loss of the 13 servicemembers, ” said Congressman Gonzalez. “My deepest condolences to the family and friends of the soldiers we lost. A Congressional Gold Medal will ensure that their memories, service, and sacrifice will never be forgotten.”