Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Top social icons

Congressman Vicente Gonzalez

Representing the 15th District of Texas

Congressman Gonzalez, Brady and Bipartisan Group of Lawmakers Introduce Bill to Guarantee Public Servants Equal Treatment in Social Security Benefits

July 25, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON – On Wednesday, Congressman Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15) and Kevin Brady (TX-08) introduced H.R. 3934, the Equal Treatment of Public Servants Act of 2019. The legislation seeks to ensure more fairness for Social Security benefit payments by eliminating the windfall elimination provision (WEP).

“Our teachers, firefighters, police officers, and Postal workers have spoken,” said Congressman Gonzalez. “We need to repeal the outdated provisions that reduce the hard earned Social Security benefits our dedicated civil servants and heroes have earned. Our bipartisan legislation is for the teacher who is forced to spend their summers working in retail and firefighter who drives an Uber as a second job because they face an unfair 40 percent reduction to their retirement benefits under current law. The WEP penalizes our public servants, and this bill would ensure fair treatment in Social Security for millions of Americans who chose to serve their communities and country.”

For more on the Equal Treatment of Public Servants Act of 2019, click here.

Twenty-seven other lawmakers joined Congressman Gonzalez and Brady in introducing H.R. 3934 in a show of bipartisan support.

The following Members are original cosponsors of the legislation: Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX); Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC); Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX); Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX); Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE); Rep. Larry Bucshon, M.D. (R-IN); Rep. Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX); Rep. John Carter (R-TX); Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX); Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-TX); Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX); Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX); Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA); Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY); Rep. Kevin Hern (R-OK); Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX); Rep. Steve King (R-IA); Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH); Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX); Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX); Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX); Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL); Rep. Van Taylor (R-TX); Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX); Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX); Rep. Ron Wright (R-TX).