Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Top social icons

Congressman Gonzalez Announces Secretarial Natural Disaster Designation for Brooks, Duval, Jim Hogg, and Live Oak Counties

November 28, 2018
Press Release
Federal Funds and loans can be awarded by the Farm Service Agency (FSA) for those affected.

WASHINGTON – Congressman Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15) today announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Sonny Perdue has approved a Secretarial disaster designation for the following counties in the 15th District of Texas: Duval, primary; Brooks, contiguous; Jim Hogg, contiguous; and Live Oak, contiguous. With this designation, those affected are qualified to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) loans.

“The farming and agriculture industries in the 15th District of Texas are key components of our region’s economic success,” Congressman Gonzalez said. “I thank Secretary Purdue for making this assistance available to those who incurred losses from this summer’s flooding. I encourage all eligible applicants to apply for these funds as we continue to rebuild and strengthen Texas agriculture.”

This designation will make farm operators in these counties, affected by severe storms and flooding from June 19 to June 21, 2018, eligible for certain assistance from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA). If requirements are met, applicants will have eight months from the date of declaration, Friday, November 23, 2018, to seek out assistance. 

Prospective applicants can contact their respective FSA offices as follows:


Duval County Farm Service Agency

141 W. Main

Benavides, Texas 78341-0509

Phone: (361) 256-3342 ext. 2

Fax: (844) 496-7092


Brooks-Jim Hogg County Farm Service Agency

123 County Road 205

Falfurrias, Texas 78355

Phone: (361) 325-2272 ext. 2

Fax: (844) 496-7055


Live Oak-McMullen County Farm Service Agency

200 E. Bowie St. Ste. C

George West, Texas 78022

Phone: (361) 449-2241 ext. 2

Fax: (844) 496-7086


For more information, visit FSA’s informational website at