Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Top social icons

Congressman Gonzalez Announces Opening of FEMA Fire Prevention and Safety Program Application Period 

January 14, 2022
Press Release

Washington, DC – On Friday, January 14, 2022, Congressman Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15) announced the opening of the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) FY2021 Fire Prevention and Safety (FP&S) Program application period. FEMA will begin accepting applications on Tuesday, January 18, 2022, at 8 a.m. ET / 7 a.m. CT through Friday, February 18, 2022, at 5 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. CT. 

 

“Deadly fires can happen in the blink of an eye. It is now more important than ever that we have the tools for fire prevention, updated educational resources, and support for our South Texas firefighters,” stated Congressman Gonzalez. “I encourage local fire departments and organizations to apply for these grants so that we can be prepared to protect our communities.” 

 

The FP&S Program will receive $46 million from the Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act, 2021 and the American Rescue Plan Act to directly award grants to fire departments, national, regional, state, local, tribal, and non-profit organizations. These grants will fund the creation of fire prevention programs, support firefighter health and safety research, and develop clinical studies that address behavioral, social science, and cultural research. 

 

For more information, please visit the FEMA website

 

 

###